I Know These Mountains

 

I have seen them before

Every jagged edge

Every scar on their face

Wind swept, rain knocked

 

Bare, brown, grey

Then snowy white

Set against the bluest blue

As heaven called out to me

 

I know every ravine

That ran through them

Swelling, rushing

Eroding, corrupting

 

I watched, mesmerized

A tiny spectator

They stood unshakable

Their vastness alluring

 

But then I crossed them

Again and again

Till there was nothing to conquer

And then I was free

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

